Days :
hours :
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Ticket Icon

Bowl More Than Doubles Scholarship Program

The Valero Alamo Bowl started a scholarship program in 2000 with 25 local San Antonio high school students each receiving a $2,000 scholarship. For the 2015-16 school year, a record $450,000 was awarded to 58 graduating seniors selected from 30 different San Antonio high schools.

Thanks to the proceeds from the Valero Alamo Bowl and Shamrock Series games in 2016 the bowl’s scholarship giving will more than double from last year to this year. In total, 125 deserving San Antonio students representing every San Antonio public and established private high school as well as all six local four-year universities will be awarded scholarships.

The students will be chosen from two scholarship programs. This year’s Valero Alamo Bowl Student-Athlete program selected at least one graduating high school senior from every San Antonio school to share nearly $600,000. The 76 winners from these 65 schools received a minimum award of $7,500 to attend the college of their choice and were honored on the field during the 2016 Valero Alamo Bowl.

Another 50+ rising college juniors and seniors will be selected from all six of San Antonio’s four-year universities to share over $400,000 via our Valero Alamo Bowl Community Partners scholarship. Funded by the Valero Alamo Bowl and matching programs through each university, this scholarship program will be unveiled this Spring in conjunction with the kick off of the bowl’s 25th Anniversary celebration.

2016 Valero Alamo Bowl Student-Athlete Winners

  • McClure Meissner, Alamo Heights High School
  • Steven Crane, Antonian High School
  • Margaret McDonough, Atonement Academy
  • Jasmin Gutierrez, Brackenridge High School
  • Jason Whang, Brandeis High School
  • Emily Zamorano, Brennan High School
  • Edgar Moreno, Burbank High School
  • Nicole Saenz, Burbank High School
  • Alexis Knight, Business Careers High School
  • Dominic Gomez, Central Catholic High School
  • Johnathan Pressler, Churchill High School
  • Luke McGhee, Clark High School
  • Brock Jones, Clemens High School
  • Lindsey Goodrich, Cole High School
  • Brinton Freeze, Communications Arts High School
  • Evan Hodde, Construction Careers Academy-Warren
  • Lane Real, East Central High School
  • Taylor Ahoyt, Edison High School
  • April Casanova, Fox Tech High School
  • Marisa Flores, Fox Tech High School
  • Oscar Castro, Harlandale High School
  • Aidan Giddings, Harlandale High Schoo
  • Paul Rodriguez, Harlandale High School
  • Federico Chavez-Torres, Health Careers High School
  • Hao Tran, Highlands High School
  • Jordan Brown, Highlands High School
  • Kimberly Munrayos, Holmes High School
  • Joel Gracia, Holy Cross High School
  • Rebecca Aristotelidis, Incarnate Word High School
  • Christian Hernandez, International School of the Americas
  • Ian Flynn, Jay High School
  • Giselle Marquez, Jefferson High School
  • Angel Hernandez, Johnson High School
  • Erin Sylve, Judson Early College Academy
  • Travis Langston, Judson High School
  • Alexis Herrera, Kennedy High School
  • Olivia Addington, Keystone School
  • Janely Williams, Lanier High School
  • Briella Nava, Lanier High School
  • Matthew Ebert, Lee High School
  • Landon Mendez, Lee High School
  • Abbey Penton, Lutheran High School
  • Ashton Woods, MacArthur High School
  • Lucero Carrasco, Madison High School
  • Ryan Schulze, Marshall High School
  • Ricardo Pena, Memorial High School
  • Alejandra Salazar Gonzalez, Memorial High School
  • James Avila, McCollum High School
  • Alex Brehm, O’Connor High School
  • Flora Naylor, Providence High School
  • Brooke LaMantia, Randolph High School
  • Justin Shin, Reagan High School
  • Jacob Powell, Roosevelt High School
  • Shanoa Fowler, Roosevelt High School
  • Jasmine Paredes, Sam Houston High School
  • Brooke Evans, San Antonio Christian High School
  • Roger Terrazas, Somerset High School
  • Ruben Ureno, South San Antonio High School
  • Christopher Garcia, Southside High School
  • Robert Hernandez, Southside High School
  • Eduardo Vicuna, Southwest High School
  • Christine Tijerina, St. Anthony Catholic High School
  • Adrianna Denny, Stevens High School
  • Laurel  Pena, Taft High School
  • Nathan Mumme, Christian School at Castle Hills
  • Thomas Marotta, Winston School San Antonio
  • Juan Villela, Taft High School
  • Victoria Flener, TMI The Episcopal School of Texas
  • Mercedes Lewis, Travis Early College High School
  • Erika Serna, Travis Early College High School
  • Emily Garcia, Wagner High School
  • Julio Arroyo, Warren High School
  • Gabriella Rios, Warren High School
  • Lea Morin, Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos