Ticket Icon

Record Crowd Expected For Youth Football Clinic




Over six hundred youth ages 5-14 have registered for this year’s Shining Star ENERGY Youth Football Clinic on Monday, July 27 from 2 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. inside the Alamodome.

Hosted by the Valero Alamo Bowl, this year’s enrollment is the highest total in the seven year history of this free summer clinic.
Head coaches Larry Kennan (University of Incarnate Word), Larry Coker (University of Texas-San Antonio), Danny Padron (Texas Lutheran) and Jerheme Urban (Trinity University) will headline a collection of 44 coaches from these San Antonio universities that combine for over 340 years of collegiate coaching experience.


The head coaches will address the participants about the fundamentals of being a good teammate on the field and a great student-athlete in the classroom, while their staffs will run various offense, defense and agility drills.


Youth participants will receive a goodie bag that includes a Shining Star ENERGY Youth Football t-shirt as well as a meal courtesy of Whataburger.



Where: Alamodome (Park in Lot A; enter field through Southwest loading dock)



When: Monday, July 27


Registration: 1 p.m. – 1:50 p.m.


Valero Alamo Bowl President and CEO Derrick Fox and the four head coaches will address the youth and their parents from 1:55 p.m. – 2:05 p.m.


Clinic: 600 youth participating in drills from 2:10 p.m. until closing ceremony begins at 4:30 p.m.



Who: More than 600 youth ages 5-14 are signed up for the Shining Star ENERGY Youth Football Clinic.


Participating coaches by school:


University of Texas-San Antonio: Eddie Benavidez, Kevin Brown, Adam Cain, Larry Coker, Shane Elder, Perry Eliano, Polo Gutierrez, Tony Jeffery, Mike Markuson, Jeremiah Moeller, Rhodie Moss, Neal Neathery, Jeffrey Popovich, Charlie Reeve, Eric Roark, John Roper, Nate Shaw, Mike Villa, Giovanni Vizza and Justin Volentine


University of Incarnate Word: Michael Barela, Sean Davis, Nick Debose, Jason Everding, Al Ford, Brian Gamble, Todd Ivicic, Kyle Kennan, Larry Kennan, Ivan Leander, and Tony Marciano


Texas Lutheran: Mark Carey, Carl Gustafson, Braxton Harris, Craig Harris, Kyle Ingraham, Andy Padron, and Danny Padron


Trinity University:  Marshall Fleener, Jeremy Gezella, Stew Krisch, Brant McAdams, Paul Michalak, Jerheme Urban, and Matthew Uzzell




Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos