Ticket Icon

San Antonio’s Bid Fails To Secure College Football Playoff National Championship

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS – The College Football Playoff announced today that Atlanta, Bay Area (Santa Clara) and New Orleans will host their 2018, 2019 and 2020 National Championships, respectively.

The communities who submitted bids were:

2018: Atlanta, Bay Area (Santa Clara), Houston and South Florida

2019: Bay Area (Santa Clara), Charlotte, Detroit, Houston, New Orleans and San Antonio

2020: Bay Area (Santa Clara), Charlotte, Houston, Minnesota, New Orleans and San Antonio

 “Our congratulations to Atlanta, the Bay Area and New Orleans on their selection as host communities for the 2018-2020 College Football Playoff National Championships,” said Derrick Fox, President/CEO of the Valero Alamo Bowl. “We’d also like to thank the CFP for their consideration of San Antonio’s bid. I’m proud of the way our community came together to showcase everything we have to offer.”

“The good news is the fantastic developments we highlighted in the bid are already rolling out as we speak,” said Fox. “Portions of Hemisfair are already open, the Convention Center will come online next month and airport and Alamodome improvements will follow. San Antonio’s reputation as a great host city will only get better.”

“San Antonio appreciated the opportunity to turn in a comprehensive and aggressive bid for the College Football Playoff National Championship,” said San Antonio Mayor Ivy R. Taylor.  “Our city is experiencing unprecedented positive growth that will benefit all future events. We invite the CFP back to see first-hand the wonderful developments that will be completed in time for our city’s 300th anniversary in 2018.”


Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos