Days :
hours :
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Ticket Icon

2012 Game #5 Most-Watched in Bowl History

The national television telecast of the 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl between #23 Texas and #13 Oregon State earned a 4.8 household coverage rating. The game averaged 4.70 million households making it the #5 most-watched game in Valero Alamo Bowl history and the 14th most-viewed non-BCS bowl in ESPN history in terms of household impressions.

In terms of average household impressions, the Valero Alamo Bowl now holds five of the Top 15 slots for non-BCS bowls in ESPN history:

#1: 5.55 million households for 2010 Valero Alamo Bowl (1/2/2010 for Michigan State vs. Texas Tech)

#2: 5.52 million households for 2006 Alamo Bowl (12/30/06 for Texas vs. Iowa)

#6: 5.06 million households for 2011 Valero Alamo Bowl (12/29/11 for Washington vs. Baylor)

#10: 4.88 million households for 2005 MasterCard Alamo Bowl (12/28/05 for Michigan vs. Nebraska)

#14: 4.70 million households for 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl (12/29/12 for Texas vs. Oregon State)

The P2 + impressions for the 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl equate to 6.75 million viewers.The game also delivered the #4 highest attendance in Valero Alamo Bowl history as a capacity crowd of 65,277 packed the 65,000 seat Alamodome on Saturday, December 29. It was the bowl’s fifth sellout in the last seven years.


66,166: Valero Alamo Bowl, December 29, 2007 (Penn State vs. Texas A&M)

65,875: Alamo Bowl, December 30, 2006 (Texas vs. Iowa)

65,380: SYLVANIA Alamo Bowl, Dec. 28, 1999 (Penn State vs. Texas A&M)

65,277: Valero Alamo Bowl, Dec. 29, 2012 (Texas vs. Oregon State)

65,265: MasterCard Alamo Bowl, Dec. 29, 2004 (Ohio State vs. Oklahoma State)

The 2012 Valero Alamo Bowl also again featured a back and forth, four quarter showdown, adding to the bowl’s reputation for close games and exciting finishes. Texas trailed Oregon State 27-17 before rallying back to win the game 31-27. Texas quarterback David Ash threw touchdown passes to running back Jonathan Gray and wide receiver Marquise Goodwin to give the Longhorns the win.

Goodwin was named offensive MVP for the game and Texas defensive end Alex Okafor earned defensive MVP honors on the strength of his 4.5 sacks, the top total in Alamo Bowl history and tied for #3 overall in FBS bowl history. The Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award Winner was Oregon State running back Storm Woods.

Seven of the last eight Valero Alamo Bowls have been decided in the closing minutes of play.

– In the 2005 MasterCard Alamo Bowl, Michigan lateraled the ball eight times on the final play and nearly found the end zone. Nebraska’s Titus Brothers did not give up on the play and sealed the 32-28 victory as he pushed Michigan’s Tyler Eckler out of bounds.

– In 2006, Texas overcame a 14-0 deficit and held Iowa scoreless in its last two drives, including once as time expired, to defeat the Hawkeyes 26-24.

– In 2007, Penn State overcame a two touchdown deficit to shut down a late Texas A&M drive on the two yard line in its 24-17 victory against the Aggies.

– In 2008, Missouri and Northwestern went to overtime before deciding a winner. A short pass from quarterback Chase Daniel to wide receiver Jeremy Maclin proved to be the difference in the Tigers’ 30-23 win.

– The January 2010 edition of the Valero Alamo Bowl saw Texas Tech trailing 31-27 with eight minutes remaining before Steven Sheffield led the Red Raiders to two late touchdowns and a 41-31 victory.

– In 2011, Baylor outlasted Washington 67-56 in the highest scoring regulation bowl game in college football history. The two teams combined to set 15 Valero Alamo Bowl records Baylor trailed Washington 56-53 with 9:40 to go, but Terance Ganaway provided two of his five touchdown runs in the final six minutes to help Baylor secure the win.

Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos