Ticket Icon

2017 Valero Alamo Bowl on December 28

The 2017 Valero Alamo Bowl will kick off on Thursday, December 28th at 8 p.m. CST in a nationally televised game on ESPN.

While this will be fifth time in the Bowl’s 25-year history the event will be played on December 28, only the December 28, 1995 Bowl game featuring #19 Texas A&M and #14 Michigan was also on a Thursday. In that memorable game, the Aggies won 22-20 in front of the first sellout crowd (64,597) in Valero Alamo Bowl history.

In addition to 1995 and this year’s game, the other two Thursday kickoffs were Washington vs. #12 Baylor in 2011 and #12 Oklahoma State vs. #10 Colorado in 2016.

Last year’s match-up was the highest ranked matchup in Valero Alamo Bowl history and delivered a $50.1 million total economic impact for San Antonio. The event drew a crowd 59,851, the fifth highest attendance in bowl history for a game matching up two out-of-state teams.

“The prime-time Thursday night slot performs well for ESPN and will showcase the Valero Alamo Bowl and San Antonio as viewership starts to peak during the post-season the night before the Goodyear Cotton Bowl and two days before the College Football Playoff semifinals,” said Derrick Fox, Valero Alamo Bowl President/CEO. “The Thursday kickoff should also again work well for people traveling to the game as they can attend the game and then stay for the weekend to enjoy all San Antonio has to offer.”

About The Bowl

The Valero Alamo Bowl was created in 1993 to bring enjoyment to South Texans, San Antonians and visitors alike while creating positive economic impact, experiences and national attention for the community and participating universities.

This year is the 25th annual Valero Alamo Bowl. The previous 24 bowl games have brought 1.4 million fans to the Alamodome, 145 million ESPN viewers and $824 in total economic impact to San Antonio.

Since its inception, the organization has also served as the local host for 11 neutral site games including last year’s Notre Dame vs. Army game that delivered a $35.4 total economic impact for San Antonio according to SportsEconomics.

For the fourth straight year, the Valero Alamo Bowl will again feature the #1 teams from the Big 12 and Pac-12 conferences after the College Football Playoff. The first three years of this agreement produced the first three Top 15 match-ups in bowl history. In 2016, the Valero Alamo Bowl’s agreements with the Big 12 and Pac-12 conferences along with ESPN were extended through the 2025 college football season.


About The Football Bowl Association


The Football Bowl Association is a non-profit organization established to help build upon the traditions of the bowl games, and bring to light the many benefits of the games beyond the playing field and parades and other activities. Just as bowl games bring a uniqueness to college football, the FBA places a spotlight on the distinctiveness of the games and their history and traditions.

The 2017-18 Football Bowl Association postseason schedule listed below (all times central standard) numbers 40 games, to be played over 24 days and televised nationwide via five different carriers.

Saturday, Dec 16  

Noon   R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl (ESPN)

1:30 p.m.   AutoNation Cure Bowl (CBS Sports Network)

2:30 p.m.   Las Vegas Bowl (ABC)

3:30 p.m.   Gildan New Mexico Bowl (ESPN)

7 p.m.   Raycom Media Camellia Bowl (ESPN)


Tuesday, December 19  

6 p.m.   Boca Raton Bowl (ESPN)


Wednesday, December 20

8 p.m.   Frisco Bowl (ESPN)

Thursday, December 21  

7 p.m.   St. Petersburg Bowl (ESPN)

Friday, December 22

11:30 a.m.   Bahamas Bowl (ESPN)

3 p.m.   Famous Idaho Potato Bowl (ESPN)


Saturday, December 23

11 a.m.   Birmingham Bowl (ESPN)

2:30 p.m.   Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl (ESPN)

6 p.m.   Dollar General Bowl (ESPN)


Sunday, December 24      

7:30 p.m.   Hawaii Bowl (ESPN)


Tuesday, December 26        
4:15 p.m.  Quick Lane Bowl (ESPN)

TBD  Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl (ESPN)

8 p.m. Cactus Bowl (ESPN)


Wednesday, December 27        

12:30 p.m.   Independence Bowl (ESPN)

4:15 p.m. New Era Pinstripe Bowl (ESPN)

7:30 p.m. Foster Farms Bowl (FOX)

8 p.m.   Texas Bowl (ESPN)


Thursday, December 28    

12:30 p.m.   Military Bowl Presented by Northwest Grumman (ESPN)

4:15 p.m.   Camping World Bowl (ESPN)

8 p.m.  San Diego County Credit Union Holiday Bowl (Fox Sports One)

8 p.m.   Valero Alamo Bowl (ESPN)


Friday, December 29    

Noon Belk Bowl (ESPN)

1 p.m. Hyundai Sun Bowl (CBS)

3:30 p.m.   Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl (ESPN)

4:30 p.m.   NOVA Home Loans Arizona Bowl (CBS Sports Network)

7:30 p.m.   Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic (ESPN)


Saturday, December 30        

11 a.m.  TaxSlayer Bowl (ESPN)

11:30 a.m.   AutoZone Liberty Bowl (ABC)

3 p.m.   PlayStation Fiesta Bowl (ESPN)

7 p.m.   Capital One Orange Bowl (ESPN)


Monday, January 1   

11 a.m.   Outback Bowl  (ESPN2)

11:30 a.m.   Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl (ESPN)

Noon   Citrus Bowl (ABC)

4 p.m.   CFP Semifinal at the Rose Bowl Game Presented by Northwestern Mutual (ESPN)

7:45 p.m.   CFP Semifinal at the Allstate Sugar Bowl (ESPN)

Monday, January 8    

7 p.m.   CFP National Championship (ESPN)





Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos