Days :
hours :
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Ticket Icon

Bowl kicks off on New’s Year Eve

Are you ready to ring in the New Year with touchdowns?

The 27th annual Valero Alamo Bowl will kick off a 6:30 p.m. CST at the Alamodome in San Antonio on Tuesday, December 31 in an exclusive primetime window on ESPN.

The first two Valero Alamo Bowls were both held on New Year’s Eve in games that featured California vs. Iowa in 1993 and Washington State vs. Baylor in 1994.

“The Valero Alamo Bowl has a well-deserved reputation as one of most exciting bowl games each year,” said Brad Barron, Chair of the 2019 Valero Alamo Bowl. “This excellent primetime kickoff will allow fans the best opportunity to watch another fantastic matchup between the Big 12 and Pac-12 conferences. Everyone attending the game in San Antonio will have the added bonus of being able to enjoy one of the nation’s best New Year’s Eve celebrations and fireworks shows right outside the Alamodome.”

Last year the Valero Alamo Bowl played on Thursday, December 28 and featured #13 Washington State’s thrilling 26-24 victory over #24 Iowa State in front of an Alamodome crowd of 60,675 and another 6.1 million viewers on ESPN, the #1 and #2 marks among the non-CFP bowl games, respectively. 

The 2019 TaxSlayer Gator Bowl saw a year-over-year increase of more than 700,000 ESPN viewers when they occupied this New Year’s Eve time slot last year for Texas A&M’s 52-13 win over North Carolina State.

Persons interested in joining us for fantastic, fireworks fueled football can go to Tickets section of and join the bowl’s priority ticket list to be eligible for this year’s presale.

Alamodome parking lots will be presold to Valero Alamo Bowl buyers and the lots will remain open until 2 a.m. so fans can enjoy all of the New Year’s Eve festivities.

Through 2025, the Valero Alamo Bowl will continue to match the #1 teams from the Big 12 and Pac-12 Conferences after the CFP selections.  ESPN and Valero agreements for this game that has delivered five straight Top 25 matchups also have been extended through 2025.

This year’s match-up will be announced on Sunday, December 8.

To get up-to-the-minute information, follow the Valero Alamo Bowl on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram (@valeroalamobowl) or visit

ESPN’s 2019-20 Bowl Season

Date      Time (CST)          Bowl Game         Network

December 20    

1 p.m.   Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl  ESPN

6:30 p.m.             Frisco Bowl         ESPN2

December 21    

11 a.m. Celebration Bowl              ABC

1:00 p.m.             New Mexico Bowl            ESPN

2:30 p.m.             Cheribundi Boca Raton Bowl       ABC

4:30 p.m.             Camellia Bowl    ESPN

6:30 p.m.             Mitsubishi Motors Las Vegas Bowl            ABC

8:00 p.m.             R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl  ESPN

December 23    

1:30 p.m.             Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl               ESPN

December 24    

7:00 p.m.             SoFi Hawai’i Bowl             ESPN

December 26    

5:00 p.m.             Walk-On’s Independence Bowl  ESPN

7:00 p.m.             Quick Lane Bowl               ESPN

December 27    

11 a.m. Military Bowl Presented by Northrop Grumman ESPN

2:20 p.m.             New Era Pinstripe Bowl ESPN

5:45 p.m.             Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl ESPN

9:15 p.m.             Cheez-It Bowl    ESPN

December 28    

11 a.m. Camping World Bowl      ABC

11 a.m. Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic     ESPN

4 p.m. or 8 p.m. College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl   ESPN

4 p.m. or 8 p.m. College Football Playoff Semifinal at the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl ESPN

December 30    

11:30 a.m.           SERVPRO First Responder Bowl  ESPN

3:00 p.m.             Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl       ESPN

7:00 p.m.             Capital One Orange Bowl              ESPN

December 31    

11 a.m. Belk Bowl            ESPN

2:45 p.m.             AutoZone Liberty Bowl  ESPN

6:30 p.m.             Valero Alamo Bowl          ESPN

January 1            

Noon     Citrus Bowl         ABC

Noon     Outback Bowl    ESPN

4:00 p.m.             Rose Bowl Game Presented by Northwestern Mutual      ESPN

7:45 p.m.             Allstate Sugar Bowl          ESPN

January 2            

2:00 p.m.             Birmingham Bowl             ESPN

6:00 p.m.             TaxSlayer Gator Bowl      ESPN

January 3            

2:30 p.m.             Famous Idaho Potato Bowl           ESPN

January 4            

10:30 a.m.           Lockheed Martin Armed Forces Bowl       ESPN

January 6            

6:30 p.m.             Mobile Alabama Bowl    ESPN

January 13          

7:00 p.m.             College Football Playoff National Championship ESPN

All Times Central

Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos