Days :
hours :
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Ticket Icon

Bowl Awards Scholarships to all San Antonio High Schools and Universities

The Valero Alamo Bowl’s first scholarship program began in 2000 with 25 local San Antonio area high school students receiving $2,000 scholarships to attend the college of their choice.

Last December, the Valero Alamo Bowl selected 76 winners from 65 San Antonio area high schools to share $590,000 of scholarships as well as committed to add a second scholarship program for local universities.

As part of last week’s Rudy’s Bar-B-Q Pigskin Preview Luncheon, the Valero Alamo Bowl recognized the 64 college junior and senior college scholarship winners representing all six of San Antonio’s four-year universities: University of the Incarnate Word, Our Lady of the Lake University, St. Mary’s University, Texas A&M–San Antonio, Trinity University and UTSA.

These scholarship winners will share $420,000 funded by the Valero Alamo Bowl and matching programs at each university. With a goal to reward junior and seniors who have both excelled in the classroom and demonstrated an interest in seeking employment in San Antonio, each university determined its own selection criteria and the amount of each individual award.

In addition to our college scholarship recipients, the Valero Alamo Bowl awards scholarships to seniors from San Antonio area public high schools and long-established private high schools.

The application is now available at each high school’s guidance office and the selections will be made in December based on academic achievement, teacher recommendations, financial need, involvement in extracurricular activities/varsity sports, honors received as well as a personal narrative.

For more information on our high school scholarship program, click here.

2017-18 Key Dates for High School Scholarships

November 3: Deadline for schools to submit their allotted student applications (each school’s internal deadlines vary so check with the guidance office)

December 7: Winners notified and invited to the luncheon and the Valero Alamo Bowl.

December 13: H-E-B Scholarship Awards Luncheon

December 28: Winners recognized on the field during the first quarter of the Valero Alamo Bowl.


17-18 College Scholarship Winners (listed by School)

University of the Incarnate Word

Alexander Cardenas, Alaric Chaney, Noah Fuentes, Nancy Gallegos, Amanda Garcia, Angela Gutierrez, Patrick Manjarrez, Celeste Martinez, Daniel Mata, Adriana Ortega, Lawson Picasso, Andrew Remelius, Frank Rivera, David Rodriguez, Sarah Tanner, Karla Valdez.

Our Lady of the Lake University

Jorge Cavazos, Yovanna Cervantes, Brandell Collins, Guadalupe Espinosa, Bobbi Gonzales, Michael Light, Alexandria Moreno, Erica Robertson, Victoria Robledo, Sumer Sagasta, Jaythy Teschner, Paula Villarreal, Dawn Villareal, Guadalupe Villegas, Orren Williams.

St. Mary’s University

Patricio Botello-Faz, LaBraile Fields, Jack Kaiser, Jonathan Ledger, Lisa Tomenendal

Texas A&M–San Antonio

Israel Aguero, Keyla Arrambide, Luz Cano, Analysa Castillo, Samuel Davila, Laraysha Hall, Danielle Holms, Dillon Rau, Tabatha Rodriguez, Ashley Sandoval, Victoria Terrazas, Ricardo Venegas.

Trinity University

Paige Adrian, Annie Barahona, Faith Deckard, Holly Gabelmann, Haleigh Garza, Jeanette Gutierrez, Emma MacEachern, Sara McCarty, Janett Muñoz, Samuel Steup, Danielle Trevino, Deliasofia Zacarias.


Bryce Alley, Blake Bogenschutz, Randee Crawford, Aimee Ponte.

Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos