Days :
hours :
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Sat, Dec. 28 - 6:30 pm CST
Ticket Icon

Yantis Named Valero Alamo Bowl Chairman

The Valero Alamo Bowl announced its officers who will oversee this year’s Valero Alamo Bowl and its Community Festival of Events. Mike Yantis, Jr. succeeds Lynette Padalecki as chairman of the Valero Alamo Bowl’s Board of Directors.

A board member since 2010, Yantis is CEO of Yantis Company. Recognized around the San Antonio area as one of the leaders in land development construction, Yantis Company specializes in all facets of civil construction including: excavation, clearing, mass grading, sewer improvements, water improvements, asphalt paving, concrete paving and drainage construction.

This year Yantis Company is celebrating its 50th Anniversary.  Yantis Company was founded in 1965 by 2007 Valero Alamo Bowl Chairman John Yantis.

“Mike has been an active Board member and a leader of our Philanthropic Committee which will disburse a record $432,500 in local scholarships this year.” said Derrick Fox, President/CEO of the Valero Alamo Bowl. “His passion for our community, scholarships and college football will be invaluable as we continue to grow our game.”

The other officers for 2015 include:

  • Lamont Jefferson, Partner, Haynes and Boone, LLP as Chair-Elect
  • Derrick Fox, CEO of the Valero Alamo Bowl, President
  • Mike Chapman, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Security Service Federal Credit Union, Treasurer
  • Michael Kiolbassa, President, Kiolbassa Provision Company, Secretary

The Valero Alamo Bowl also announced the following additions to their Board of Directors: Brandon Logan, SRG Athletics; Dr. Richard T. Steffen, Sports Medicine Associates of San Antonio; Jason Thompson, General Manager at Ancira Nissan.

The game date for the Valero Alamo Bowl will be announced by the end of April. However, persons interested in game tickets can go to to join the bowl’s priority ticket list now to be eligible for this year’s presale.


About The Bowl

The Valero Alamo Bowl is an annual post-season collegiate game played in the 65,000 seat Alamodome in San Antonio.

The 2015 Valero Alamo Bowl kicked off a six-year agreement to match up the #1 teams from the Big 12 and Pac-12 conferences after the College Football Playoff.

This new arrangement delivered the first Top 15 match-up in bowl history as #14 UCLA outlasted #11 Kansas State 40-35 in front of the seventh largest crowd among all of the bowl games and the 5.6 million viewers who tuned into the ESPN broadcast.



Find it in the Media Library

Listen, view, and download photos and audio from past media availabilities.

Media Library

Logos and Guidelines

View the style guidelines and download the official Valero Alamo Bowl logos.

Bowl Logos